Skip to main content

Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Meet Our Staff

County Extension Director

Photo of Alan Durden, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAlan DurdenCounty Extension Director (828) 349-2049 alan_durden@ncsu.eduMacon County Center

4-H Youth Development

Photo of Carol Pitts, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCarol PittsEFNEP Educator, Extension Program Assistant (828) 349-2046 (Office) carol_pitts@ncsu.eduMacon County CenterPhoto of Tammara Talley, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionTammara TalleyExtension Agent, 4-H Youth Development (828) 349-2226 tammara_cole@ncsu.eduMacon County Center

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Photo of Christy Bredenkamp, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionChristy BredenkampArea Agent, Agriculture - Horticulture (828) 586-4009 (Office) christine_bredenkamp@ncsu.eduJackson County CenterPhoto of Joe Deal, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJoe DealExtension Agent, Agriculture - Livestock, Forages and Pastures (828) 349-2046 (Office) joe_deal@ncsu.eduMacon County Center

Family and Consumer Sciences

Photo of Julie Sawyer, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJulie SawyerExtension Agent, Family and Consumer Sciences (828) 456-3575 (Office) julie_sawyer@ncsu.eduHaywood County Center

Support

Photo of Marilyn Bradley, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarilyn BradleyAdmin and Business Support (828) 349-2046 mmbradle@ncsu.eduMacon County CenterPhoto of Deborah Hunter, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDeborah HunterCounty Extension Administrative Assistant (828) 349-2046 (Office) debbie_hunter@ncsu.eduMacon County Center

Regional Positions

Area Specialized Agents specialize in specific areas of agriculture and natural resource management and serve many counties. Area 4-H Agents provide support to county based 4-H programs. While their knowledge and expertise is available to residents of Macon County Center, they may not be present in the Macon County Center. Please contact the Macon County Center for assistance and initial consultation.

Photo of April Dillon, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionApril DillonArea Extension Agent, 4-H Youth Development Serves 30 Counties and EBCIBased out of Cleveland(704) 482-4365 (Office) april_dillon@ncsu.eduCleveland County Center Photo of Lauren Greene, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLauren GreeneArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Poultry Serves 31 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wilkes(336) 651-7347 lauren_greene@ncsu.eduWilkes County Center Photo of Marissa Herchler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarissa HerchlerArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Animal Food Safety (FSMA Programs) Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Poultry Science(919) 515-5396 marissa_herchler@ncsu.eduPoultry Science Photo of Bill Lord, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBill LordArea Specialized Agent, Water Resources Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Franklin(919) 496-3344 (Office) william_lord@ncsu.eduFranklin County Center Photo of Craig Mauney, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCraig MauneyArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Commercial Vegetables and Fruits Serves 39 CountiesBased out of Henderson(828) 684-3562 craig_mauney@ncsu.eduHenderson County Center Photo of Currey Nobles, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCurrey NoblesArea Specialized Agent, Food Safety Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences(919) 515-9520 canobles@ncsu.eduFood, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences Photo of Elena Rogers, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionElena RogersArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Food Safety - Fresh Produce Western NC Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Horticultural Science(828) 352-2519 elena_rogers@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Photo of Debbie Stroud, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDebbie StroudArea Specialized Agent, Consumer and Retail Food Safety Serves 33 Counties and EBCIBased out of Agricultural & Human Sciences(919) 515-9149 dlstroud@ncsu.eduAgricultural & Human Sciences Photo of Amanda Taylor, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAmanda TaylorArea Specialized Agent, Nursery and Greenhouse, Western Region Serves 28 CountiesBased out of Burke(828) 475-2915 amanda_jo_taylor@ncsu.eduBurke County Center Photo of Skip Thompson, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionSkip ThompsonArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Aquaculture Serves 13 Counties and EBCIBased out of Haywood(828) 456-3575 (Office) Skip_Thompson@ncsu.eduHaywood County Center Photo of Mitch Woodward, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMitch WoodwardArea Specialized Agent, Watersheds and Water Quality Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wake(919) 250-1112 mdwoodwa@ncsu.eduWake County Center